top of page


2019 Visionary Award Winners

BBP-Photoshoot-May2017-22 cropped shorte

Michael Bennett

Bennett Benner Partners

A native Texan, Michael has devoted his career to the redevelopment of cities and the preservation of the natural environment.  After beginning his career in Texas, Michael spent 12 years practicing in Europe and New York before returning to Fort Worth, joining Bennett Benner Partners in 2004 and becoming CEO in 2008.  In Europe he was responsible for a variety of notable corporate and mixed-use projects throughout central and eastern Europe.  Michael’s thoughtful design approach and sensitivity to context can be seen in much of the firm’s highly varied portfolio. 


Michael has personally led the design of many of the firm’s signature projects, including Frost Tower, MOLA at the Fort Worth Zoo, Erma Lowe Hall at TCU, Martin Center at Texas Wesleyan University and the Woodshed Smokehouse, and led the firm’s involvement in Sundance Square Plaza.  Current projects include Overton Park Elementary, Kimpton Hotel Fort Worth, Palo Pinto Mountains State Park and the restoration of Heritage Park.  Michael is heavily involved in his community and believes passionately in the power of architecture and design to build a better world.

JM_Vertical cropped and shortened.jpg

Jerry Merriman

Merriman Anderson


Jerry was born and raised in Mitchell, South Dakota and graduated from The University of Oklahoma. After graduating, Jerry moved to Dallas to begin his career in architecture. In 1987 Jerry founded MAA as a small family-owned firm and that now comprises 120 employees between their Dallas, Austin, and Charlotte offices. The MAA Dallas office relocated to downtown in 2001 with a focus on urban revitalization.


Jerry and the MAA team have been integral in the design of 45 downtown Dallas projects, including the renovation and restoration of more than 20 downtown historic buildings. The firm’s project portfolio includes the two largest redevelopments in downtown Dallas’ history — The Statler and 1401 Elm, and the oldest building renovation in downtown Dallas — Old Dallas High School.


Jerry is actively involved in Downtown Dallas, Inc., Preservation Dallas, The University of Oklahoma Professional Advisory Board for the College of Architecture, and The University of Oklahoma Board of Visitors. Jerry loves fly-fishing and spending time with his family.

Dan Noble ACam1-color_originaljpeg  Crop

Dan Noble


Dan Noble was born in Chicago but grew up in Aberdeen, South Dakota. After graduating from North Dakota State University in 1982 with a dual Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees in Architecture, he moved to Texas. Prior to his appointment as CEO in January 2014, Dan’s leadership as Global Director of Design significantly elevated the quality of the firm’s work and the reach of its influence.


Under Dan’s guidance, HKS has expanded its global reach; developed state-of-the-art research around the neuroscience of design’s impact on health and productivity; demonstrated profound impact in environmental conservation and sustainable design; worked in cities across the globe to improve urban design and resilience; donated design services and financial support to major charitable initiatives; and worked with other members of the design community to elevate the profession.


Dan is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and American College of Healthcare Architects. A board member and former National President of the Academy on Architecture for Health (AAH), Dan is also a trustee for the Foundation for the AAH and national chairman of the AIA/AAH regional initiatives. He is a member of the Board of Regents of the American College of Healthcare Architects, Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce, Downtown Dallas Inc. and Y Dallas. He is a past president of the Dallas Architecture Foundation and has served as design commissioner, editor and awards program chairman of AIA Dallas.

Scott Ruch-2018 cropped and

Scott Ruch


Scott Ruch is the CEO at Corgan, a global architecture and interior design firm based in Dallas. During his 30-year tenure in technically diverse architectural design, Scott has worked with countless clients to develop design strategies and create highly-effective environments. Throughout his career, Scott has been instrumental in designing over five million square feet of data center projects and is passionate about working in partnership with his clients and developing a clear focus for the design of highly-effective spaces. Scott provides strategic leadership on major project challenges and design solutions while leading the firm in overall business operations and practice.

2019 Honorary Chairperson

robert wilonsky.jpg

Robert Wilonski

Master of Ceremonies

Andy Taft

Andy Taft.jpg

2019 Event Co-Chairs

Marsha Getto - Aikens
HKS, Inc.

Stephen Lucy

JQ Engineering

David Masters
Merriman Anderson/ Architects, Inc.

cropped & resized joc bw headshot.jpg

Julianne O'Connor

LPA Design Studios

Ed Spooner
Turner Construction Company

Co-Chairs Emeritus

David Schmidt, SCHMIDT & STACY Consulting Engineers, Inc

Dave Schroeder, Dallas Print and Signage Group

2019 Topping Out Jurors

2019 Jurors

Mark Bartlett


Brad Bell

School of Architecture, CAPPA, UTA


Lynn Dowdle

Dowdle Real Estate

Craig Drone

LPA Design Studios

Mitch Paradise

Paradise Development Partners


​Shawn Todd

Todd Interests & former Topping Out Visionary Award Recipient

Michael Zaretsky

Architectural Engineering Program - Civil Engineering Department
Architect and Associate Professor, UTA

Project Submissions & Jury Committee

Mark Jones

EventLink International, Inc.

Planning Committee

​Jim Herckt, AIA
Jim Herckt Architects

Brenda Hedrick

OP | Maars

Drew M. Martin

Tom Perez
ARC Document Solutions

UT Arlington Representative

Brad Bell, Director

University of Texas at Arlington School of Architecture

College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs


Event Management

Teri Abram, President

EventLink International, Inc.




Executive Advisory Board

Ralph Hawkins, FAIA, FACHA, LEED AP

HKS, Inc.


All past Event Co-Chairs

bottom of page